This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Us

We are a section of the American Sociological Association, and our purpose is to promote scholarly research and professional activity in relation to the sociology of science, knowledge, and technology. We began as a “section-in-formation” in 1987 and then became a full section the following year. As of 2018, our section has 586 members.

SKAT scholarship addresses a broad range of relevant questions, like: what makes some kinds of evidence credible? How do experts gain and lose trust? How do states set priorities for research funding, and who gets a say in the technological decision-making that undergirds decisions affecting population health, national security, or environmental sustainability? SKAT, therefore, engages with issues that are fundamental to building local communities, sustaining democracy and engaging human values.

The SKAT section organizes sessions at the ASA annual meeting, selects and presents awards for books and articles in our field, organizes mentoring activities, publishes three newsletters per year, and communicates with our members about relevant events, activities, and opportunities.

ASA-SKAT Section Officers 2020-2021

Chair Laurel Smith-Doerr, University of Massachusetts-Amherst (2019-2021)
Chair-Elect Aaron Panofsky, UCLA (2019-2021)
Past Chair Alondra Nelson, Institute for Advanced Study (2019-2021)
Secretary-Treasurer John Parker, National Science Foundation (2020-2022)

Section Council
Alka Menon, Yale University (2019-2022)
Kevin M. Moseby, Drexel University (2019-2022)

Katherine Weatherford Darling, University of Maine at Augusta (2018-2021)
Joanna Kempner, Rutgers University (2018-2021)
Diana Graizbord, University of Georgia (2020-2022)
Martine Lappe, Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo (2020-2022)

Student Representatives
Renee Shelby, Northwestern University (2019-2021)
Cal Garrett, University of Illinois-Chicago (2020-2021)

ASA-SKAT Committees for 2019-2020

Nominations Committee:
Aaron Panofsky (committee chair)
Alondra Nelson

Membership Committee:
Joanna Kempner (committee co-chair)
Janet Vertesi (committee co-chair)
Emily Saras, Tim Sacco, Santiago Molina

Mentoring Committee:
Alka Menon (committee chair)
Danielle Giffort
Mel Jeske

Communications Committee:
Kate Darling (committee chair)
Emily Vasquez (newsletter coordinator)
Joe Kotarba
Jeremiah Morelock
Urooj Raja

Merton Book Award Committee:
Tim O’Brien (committee chair)
Charlie Gomez
Taylor Cruz
Emily Vasquez

Star-Nelkin Article Award Committee:
Elaine Draper (committee chair)
Renee Shelby
Torsten Voight
Madeleine Pape

Hacker-Mullins Student Paper Award Committee:
Kevin M. Moseby (committee chair)
Arafaat Valiani
April Hovav
Aaron Yates

Contact the Communications Committee


American Sociological Association

How to Join the ASA-SKAT Section

Online Teaching Resources

Video editor: Janet Vertesi